Hello, I’m Broken

Sometimes, don’t you just wish the people around you could “read” how you are feeling? It would be so much easier than trying to give an explanation, or having to pretend that everything is okay.

There are definitely times when I wish that humans had a sixth sense so that I could just send off a message reading “I feel broken right now,” and have everyone respond automatically. Yet, would that be enough? Could three words (“I feel broken”) really communicate my heart cry to the people whom I encounter?

I doubt it. I sometimes wonder if any words could ever truly allow someone to get inside of my emotions and my heart when life hurts. Maybe after years and years of unburdening my soul in parallel situations I could bring someone to really understand. Yet that doesn’t help me today, on a down day, on a day when the sadness and the loss fill me and make me want the whole world to understand.

Have some of you experienced feelings like this? Before I ask, I suspect that I know the answer. I believe that many people have felt the way I feel and have desperately wanted other people to understand them. The way we express such a desire and the nuances of how we experience it are certainly different, but I believe that at some point all of us have desperately longed to be understood, for one reason or another.

Sadly, there is no magical way that everyone we meet on the street can know how we are feeling. Certainly it’s wise to turn to the close relationships in our lives at difficult times… But sometimes, even there, we are disappointed.

However, though I have had to honestly face these sad conclusions about our potential disappointment in the search to be understood, I have been reminded of two positive things. First, I have seen that we can start creating an environment where people understand better. Hard as it sometimes is, we can work to look outside ourselves, see other people who seem like they may also be facing something difficult, and be willing to start conversations that can lead to empathy. Other people are searching for love and someone to understand them, just as we are.

Second, though the world can be pretty disappointing when it comes to trying to find someone to whom you can unburden your soul, there is one Person out there whom I know “gets it.” He understands me even before I start telling him how I feel. Unlike a lot of people, he actually always wants me to talk to him and tell him how I’m doing. He says to me, “Cast your burden on me, because I care for you.” He is my God who wrote many beautiful and comforting words in his book the Bible, where he offers hope, compassion and a perfect relationship to anyone who will come to him (you can read more about this in the “about”  section of this blog). As I talk to him and start trying to reach out to other people around me, the hard days in this world start feeling less lonely.

10 thoughts on “Hello, I’m Broken

  1. Hi Leeanne, this was nicely written. I can feel your pain between the lines and I totally know what’s it’s like to feel misunderstood. I think our best bet is to search for people who can resonate with us. Support groups, dearest friends, elders in the family. Most of us try to reach out to anyone we can for help, or advice, and guidance; sometimes it isn’t enough. I get it. We cannot change the world’s view, only our view of the world. It is hard to find people who are truly caring, and empathetic. I know it is, that’s why we have to work on building a relationship with our self. This all probably sounds cliché and I’m sure you’ve heard it, but I just wanted to give some feedback on a lovely post. Good luck on your path to serenity 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much for commenting. I too think it’s so important to remember to reach out to other people recalling that there are indeed caring people in the world; it’s crucial for me to remain willing to open up. Thanks again for your sympathy and kind words!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi there. Thank you for your vulnerable and honest post. I am glad you have God with you to support you through what you’re experiencing. You mentioned burden… I wrote a post recently about 12 ways we inadvertently burden ourselves on my blog. If you’d like to read it, I have it in the ‘spirituality’ section of my blog at http://www.jasmineplatt.com. It might resonate with you. Sending big love. And again, thanks for your open post and bravery to share it. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi 🙂 This is beautiful, and feels authentic. We would be hardpressed to find someone who hasn’t put on that half smile and said “I’m fine”. It is too bad that there isn’t a better way to express these day to day feelings without getting into detail. A universal saying of sorts, that we all can simply acknowledge and move on.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m sad to hear that you are going through a tough time. We ALL go through challenges and we find different ways to turn things around. Surprisingly, there are often NEW people that come into our lives at this time… it might be something as simple as someone who “opens the door for us” at the store or someone who talks to us at the grocery store. Hard to explain, but we have to notice the “little” things people do for us, which manifest into bigger happy moments. Like people sharing stories on their blogs. Hang in there! Tomorrow you might hear a bird chirp and SMILE REALLY BIG! Beauty is around us. https://brilliantviewpoint.com/2017/08/07/mom-and-her-tea-cups/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, yes, that is so true that it is important to remember the small but very good things! Sometimes I forget all of the blessings that I have all around me, or all the ways that my God has taken care of me before and brought me through other difficult situations. When I remember these things, it certainly puts the difficult moment I’m in now into perspective. Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Leeanne,

    I have felt this way plenty of times. You are not alone at all. I am glad you feel comfortable sharing your feelings. When I have rough moments, I try to reach out to people that I know understand what I am going through. I also speak to my therapist. There is this incredible service called Crisis Text Line where you can speak with a peer counselor via text message. I have used it and I feel it helped at the time. This service however, is not a substitute for professional help. You can reach a peer counselor by texting START to 741-741. Thanks again for sharing your feelings. ❤✊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Catherine! Thank you so much for your kind words and compassion. They were a great reminder that there are caring and understanding people out there, which I absolutely believe in. And it’s so true that working with a good counselor can be great quite a blessing. Thank you for being willing to share what you have found to be helpful! Among other things, I’m so thankful for having a few really good friends, and knowing some really understanding people from my church.
      Thanks again!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

